Low-Interest Home Loans are Available

Low-Interest Home Loans are Available

The new Regional Housing Trust Fund (RHTF) has been implemented by Area 15 Regional Planning (AHEAD).  Low interest loan funds are available for qualified homeowners in Keokuk County as well as Davis, Jefferson, Wapello, Mahaska and Van Buren Counties.

Funding is available to provide various repair/rehab activities such as roof replacement, new siding/windows/doors, electrical/heating/cooling system upgrades, water heater replacement/plumbing repairs, insulation and accessibility and more.

Interest rates are 0-2 percent and deferred loans are also available depending upon household size and income.  Applications are on-going-no deadlines-and are accepted on a first-come, first served basis for each county.  This is a great program that more people need to be aware of and take advantage of.

To be eligible for this program, your household income must be at or below 80 percent of MFI guidelines.   You must provide proof of property ownership and proof of paid to date property taxes and mortgage payments.  In addition the property must be clear of any mechanic’s leins or encumbrunces and have a a taxable value of $20,000 or greater.  For additional information, application forms, guidelines, and brochures go to www.area15rpc.com/rhtf or call in Keokuk County 622-2902.

Income guidelines range from a single person household at or below $32,800 to a six (6) person household at  or below $54,300 for renter occupied housing rehab.  For owner occupied housing repair, a single person household shold have a manimum income of $54,718 to an eight (8) person household with a maximum income of $67,600.